In the face of increasing competition, companies that wish to succeed must continually enhance and evolve their systems to maximize their operations and reduce costs. Lean processes is a proven method that can help businesses achieve these goals by eliminating ‘waste’ from their systems.

A Lean professional is aware of the various lean concepts, philosophies, and tools and plays a pivotal role in improving processes in a company.

Lean Practitioners has the skills to contribute to continuous business improvement and Lean projects to improve productivity, efficiency, quality, on-time delivery and much more. Lean practitioner is the 2nd step in becoming a qualified lean master.  The 4 steps in your lean master journey are :

  1. Lean Champion
  2. Lean Practitioner
  3. Lean Expert
  4. Lean Master


The lean practitioner course teaches you the following 3 important lean tools and philosophies.

  1. Value Stream Mapping & Design
  2. 5S – Workplace Organisation
  3. Kaizen / Continuous Improvement


(1) Value Stream Mapping & Design

The value stream mapping process enables you to create a macro view of all the steps in a process. It puts on display all the important steps of your work process, which are necessary to deliver value from start to finish. Thus, you can visualize every operational step that your team performs and highlights bottlenecks and constraints to flow.

This tool is employed to identify and eliminate waste from a process and achieve a high level of efficiency. 

(2) 5S – Workplace Organization

5S, or Workplace Organization, is one of the first steps in a Lean Practitioner’s journey. It enlists 5 steps – beginning with S – to achieve a organized, systematic and efficient workplace.

These steps include:

  1. Sort – Separate the items that you need from those you don’t and eliminate what isn’t needed
  2. Set in Order – Neatly arrange what is left after sorting – there is a place for everything, and everything must be in its place with consideration to frequency of use.
  3. Shine – Create a routine to maintain and inspect the work space and data regularly
  4. Standardize – Identify high vale, high volume or high risk processes and standardize best practice approach for optimal outcomes.
  5. Sustain – Refers to being disciplined and performing the first four S regularly and to create review points to stimulate innovation and audit results.

(3) Kaizen / Continuous Improvement

Kaizen, literally translates to ‘change for good’ in Japanese. It entails continuous improvement by taking frequent small steps. In fact, Kaizen refers to a culture of continuous improvement that urges one to not be satisfied with the status quo and continue looking for activities to improve all functions while involving all the people of the organisation.


Becoming a certified Lean Practitioner with Vative Academy is simple and straight-forward as long as you are committed to learning and growing your career and your organisation.

In the Lean Practitioner course, you will learn all the topics above. You can either acquire a statement of knowledge (SoK) certificate only or acquire a LSSSP skill certificate. Certified Skills Assessment will require the completion of a full Value Stream Map and Design, the demonstrated implementation of a 5S system, running a Kaizen event, and the setting up of a Continuous Improvement Centre. You will come out as a highly skilled and sought after Lean Practitioner.

Signup for the Lean Practitioner course here and take your career to the next level.

Please Note: You are required to complete our Lean Champion course before you can enroll into the Lean Practitioner course.